Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    because racecar Chapter: Fort Worth Chase16016's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,877

    Default Meng HID Problem

    Before I take this issue to Meng, I'd like to ask you guys first. Just got 2 kits a couple weeks ago, and the passenger light stopped working. Not sure if the bulb is blown, but the high beam indicator quit working too

  2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement
    Join Date
    Always
    Location
    Advertising world
    Posts
    Many
     

  3. #2
    Sciko Thread Jacker Chapter: DFW mmarc76's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Plano, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,496

    Default

    Have you swapped the driverside bulb to the passenger side ..that can isolate bulb or ballast

  4. #3
    Sciko Thread Jacker Chapter: DFW mmarc76's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Plano, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,496

    Default

    If you kept the old headlight you could also bypass the ballast Ans connect the halogen bulb back in to see if the problem lies further back in the wiring

  5. #4
    because racecar Chapter: Fort Worth Chase16016's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,877

    Default

    I'll try that when I get time. I know somebody else this has happened to as well. One of their HID bulbs stopped working, they bought a new bulb, still didn't work, and their high beam indicator no longer works, like mine.

  6. #5
    Sciko Thread Jacker Chapter: DFW mmarc76's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Plano, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,496

    Default Re: Meng HID Problem

    Quote Originally Posted by Chase16016 View Post
    I'll try that when I get time. I know somebody else this has happened to as well. One of their HID bulbs stopped working, they bought a new bulb, still didn't work, and their high beam indicator no longer works, like mine.
    you have dual HID for highs low? I believe the indicator seeks a higher voltage when the highs are switched, if it doesnt sense a voltage change, as in no bulb in socket or burned out bulb or no voltage change from one light to the next it wont throw and indicator, but i could be stating things completely out my ass, nother test would to be to put your highs back in and see if the indicators work

  7. #6
    because racecar Chapter: Fort Worth Chase16016's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,877

    Default

    Yeah I'm pretty sure what you said is the problem. Switched the bulbs, it's fine, ballast is the problem. High beam indicator worked up until the bulb stopped working, and quit. So 2 35 watt bulbs = high beam indicator. 1 35 watt bulb = no high beam indicator. That's just my best guess. Ran into another problem though. I have aftermarket headlamps in right now that I'm about to take out and sell, so I'm going back to stock. My bulbs for the aftermarket lamps won't fit the stock lamps. That means I gotta buy 4 new HID bulbs now..... This sucks!

  8. #7
    Sciko Thread Jacker Chapter: DFW mmarc76's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Plano, Texas, United States
    Posts
    1,496

    Default

    Ah yeah cause they were H4s or something. Right?

  9. #8
    because racecar Chapter: Fort Worth Chase16016's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    5,877

    Default

    H7 but yeah, kinda sucks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •